Main menu


Officially.. Melbourne City is the Australian League champion for the first time

Melbourne City were crowned the Australian Football League champions for the first time in their history, after beating Sydney FC 3-1 in the final match of the tournament on Sunday.

In May, Melbourne City won the Australian Mini League title, for the first time in its history, to participate in the finals.

Sydney made a great effort after Luke Brattan was sent off in the 35th minute, but Scott Galloway secured the victory for Melbourne in stoppage time, after his team advanced with two goals through Nathaniel Atkinson and captain Scott Jamison.

Melbourne collected 49 points from 26 matches played in the mini-league, to crown the competition for the first time, two points ahead of Sydney FC.

In the semi-finals, Melbourne City - with goals by Stephen Kolakowski and Marco Tellio - beat Markarthur, to face Sydney, who won the same round with two goals to one over Adelaide United.

Melbourne was founded in June 2009 and joined Citigroup in January 2014. The group includes 10 clubs from around the world, most notably Manchester City.