Main menu


Russian Foreign Ministry: The United States will be on the list of "non-friendly countries"

The official spokeswoman for the Russian Foreign Ministry, Maria Zakharova, said today, Sunday, that the United States of America will be among the list of "non-friendly countries" that will be prevented from employing the Russians to work in its diplomatic missions, which are currently being formed, noting that this measure aims to protect Russia from Hostile and unfriendly actions.

Zakharova explained, in a statement reported by the Russian news agency (Sputnik), that the thought of preparing the list of "non-friendly countries" came as a result of unfriendly measures taken by the United States of America, including the imposition of new sanctions against Russia and the expulsion of Russian diplomats without reason.

On Sunday, Russian Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov said his country was ready to take more measures if the United States continued its escalation.

"We said everything during our reaction to the recent unfriendly steps to the Americans ... We have announced all the measures that we have taken and we are still ready to take more if the escalation continues," the Russian minister said - in statements reported by (Sputnik).

In response to a question about whether dialogue with the United States has already begun regarding the summit meeting between Presidents Vladimir Putin and Joe Biden, Lavrov said: "At the request of Russian President Vladimir Putin, I talked about the suggestion of US President Joe Biden to hold a summit. It was received positively and we are doing it." Study it now. "

Last month, the Russian Foreign Ministry announced that it had withdrawn the Russian ambassador to the United States, Anatoly Antonov, for consultations and assessing the prospects for relations with Washington, noting that Moscow is interested in preventing further deterioration of relations with the United States.